THEATER | DANCE | CLASSICAL MUSIC | OPERA | COMEDY

NORTH TEXAS PERFORMING ARTS NEWS

REVIEWS

Reviews Page 1 of 10
And the Winner Is...

TeCo Theatrical Productions' 13th New Play Competition is a tasty theater pie served in 20-minute slices.


published Wednesday, March 4, 2015
These Boots are Made for Struttin'

The tour of Kinky Boots at Dallas Summer Musicals will have you singing anthems about being yourself, and wishing for fabulous footwear.


published Tuesday, March 3, 2015
It Hurts to Laugh

In Stage West's Studio Series, Thomas Ward's International Falls hits the funny bone and the gut.


published Monday, March 2, 2015
Deep Focus

At Amphibian Stage Productions, Donald Margulies' Time Stands Still looks at life through a lens of truth and beauty.


published Monday, March 2, 2015
My Verona

At Fort Worth's Stolen Shakespeare Guild, a Verona festival proves that the Italian city is indeed fair.


published Thursday, February 26, 2015
The Surreal World 

At Cara Mía Theatre Company, Jose Rivera's References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot is verbally and psychologically rewarding.


published Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Bad Medicine

Compelling African American Repertory Theater production of Miss Evers’ Boys reveals the evil done in the name of research.


published Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tech, Tech Boom

At Stage West, the regional premiere of Madeleine George's The (curious case of the) Watson Intelligence is a tech tale with heart.


published Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Bumpy Night

The Dallas Chamber Symphony entertains with a new score to the 1919 silent film Bumping Into Broadway, but goes astray on works by Ruth Crawford Seeger and Aaron Copland.


published Saturday, February 21, 2015
Once, Twice

Performing Arts Fort Worth brings Once back to North Texas, and that's OK. It's worth seeing again.


published Friday, February 20, 2015
All Night Long

Artes de la Rosa delivers the party with a Brazilian carnival-themed Twelfth Night.


published Friday, February 20, 2015
Young Love

Fun House Theatre and Film entertains with a swiftly paced and age-appropriate (for the leads at least) Romeo and Juliet.


published Thursday, February 19, 2015
Love Lights

The Blue Candlelight Music Series scores another winner with a program featuring violinist Felix Olschofka and pianst Paul Posnak.


published Sunday, February 15, 2015
Oh Romero, Romero

Spanish guitar legend Pepe Romero turns in the goods for Fort Worth Classic Guitar at the Kimbell Art Museum, but he could have shown more warmth.


published Saturday, February 14, 2015
Round and Round

Dallas Chamber Music offers a treat with Music of the Spheres Society.


published Thursday, February 12, 2015
Alpine Twist

Gregory Sullivan Isaacs reviews the second cast in The Dallas Opera's La Wally Act IV, who performed on the final night of its pairing with Everest.


published Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Let Your Light Shine

Turtle Creek Chorale proves why it's an important part of the LGBT community with a 35th Anniversary Concert, featuring former conductor Tim Seelig.


published Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Kingdom of Dance

Paul Taylor Dance Company brings the legendary choreographer's haunting beauty and subversive wit to the Eisemann Center in Richardson.


published Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Keeping It Real

At Jubilee Theatre, audiences are in for a treat with Ebony Marshall-Oliver in In Real Life, the third installment of Charlayne Woodard's trilogy.


published Tuesday, February 10, 2015
The Art in 'Martian'

At Teatro Dallas, The Circus that Came from Mars is a visual treat for children of all ages, no matter how many languages you speak. Review in English and Spanish.


published Sunday, February 8, 2015
Over-Fifty Shades of Gray

In Michele Riml's Sexy Laundry at WaterTower Theatre, the joys of being married and over a certain age hits the funny spot.


published Friday, February 6, 2015
Mazel Tough

At Circle Theatre, the regional premiere of Aaron Posner's My Name is Asher Lev is a thoughtful look at two worlds colliding.


published Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Who's an Old Softie?

Matt Posey’s Soft Noodle Map reaches for the stars and touches the heart at Ochre House.  


published Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tenor Heights

Tenor Lawrence Brownlee delivers a solid, insightful recital for the Cliburn Foundation at the Kimbell Art Museum.


published Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Go On, Stagger Lee

At Dallas Theater Center, Will Power and Justin Ellington's explosive Stagger Lee ignites black urban myths with music, dance and a century-spanning story.


published Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Renaissance Fare

The Dallas Bach Society's latest house concert featured a lovely performance by soprano Nell Snaidas.


published Monday, February 2, 2015
Mountain High

At The Dallas Opera, the world premiere of Joby Talbot's  Everest soars, while Act IV of Catalani's La Wally proves why it's an all but forgotten opera.


published Sunday, February 1, 2015
Trophy Club

A fast and farcical cast lands the laughs in Nell Benjamin's The Explorers Club at WaterTower Theatre, a co-production with Stage West.


published Sunday, January 25, 2015
A Shot of Talent

Lyric Stage goes all out for a concert version of Irving Berlin's masterful Annie Get Your Gun.


published Friday, January 23, 2015
Change of Pace

Voices of Change celesbrates 40 years with an atypical concert featuring works by Britten, Bloch and Adamo.


published Wednesday, January 21, 2015
 Navigate to Reviews page:
12345678910
Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary Out of the Loop 2015 Grey Gardens References to Salvador Dali Make Me Hot Women's Choreography Project Olate Dallas Opera Testament of Mary
Click or Swipe to close
reviews
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
audiocasts
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
contests
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
crowdfunding
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
studio
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web



Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:


Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:


TheaterJones Section:


Category:
Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Search
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  



Your Name:
Your Email Adress:


please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :
Submit