THEATER | DANCE | CLASSICAL MUSIC | OPERA | COMEDY

NORTH TEXAS PERFORMING ARTS NEWS

REVIEWS

Reviews Page 1 of 10
Memory Laps

Suggestion of childhood trauma triggers doubt and breakdown in Amy Herzog’s The Great God Pan at Second Thought Theatre.


published Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Shock and Awe

The boldest show of the season was Kidd Pivot and Electric Company Theatre's Betroffenheit, presented by TITAS at Dallas City Performance Hall.


published Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Time After Time

Cambalache Teatro en Espanol, one of two Dallas theaters that perform in Spanish, gives a strong production of Juan Carlos Rubio's Las Heridas del Viento.


published Tuesday, April 26, 2016
American Beauty

At Fort Worth Opera, the world premiere of David T. Little and Royce Vavrek's JFK is bizarre and captivating, filled with gorgeous singing, acting and visuals.


published Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Green Goddess

The witches of Oz are back for one of the strongest tours of Wicked, presented by Dallas Summer Musicals at Music Hall at Fair Park, we've seen in a while.


published Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Three's Comedy. Sort of

At Houston Grand Opera, the third installment in the Ring Cycle, Siegfried, is like the others of this cycle: beautifully performed and visually stunning.


published Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Mighty River

The Dallas Opera takes on its first musical with Kern and Hammerstein's monumental achievement, Show Boat, at the Winspear Opera House.


published Thursday, April 21, 2016
Bodacious Bellyache

Jonah is a whale of a tale about love, sin and singing while you can in a roiling, brightly colored production in at Undermain Theatre.


published Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Guitar Hero

Acclaimed guitarist Jason Vieaux closes the Allegro Guitar Society season on a high note.


published Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Point of Focus

Chamberlain Performing Arts brings in Bruce Wood Dance Project for an evening of the pretty and poetic at the Eisemann Center.


published Saturday, April 16, 2016
Trippin' in the Basement

Sizzling songs outshine dutiful dialogue in world premiere of The Empress and The Pearl at Theatre Three's Theatre Too!


published Thursday, April 14, 2016
A Perfect Fit

LakeCities Ballet Theatre wraps up another successful season with its new full-length verision of Cinderella in Lewisville.


published Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Gossip Girl

Karen Murphy savors every bite in I'll Eat You Last: A Chat with Sue Mengers at Amphibian Stage Productions.


published Sunday, April 10, 2016
Feather Figure

Teatro Dallas revisits one of its favorite authors, Argentinean Arístides Vargas, with the timely and poignant Feather and the Tempest.


published Saturday, April 9, 2016
Connect Four

The Austrian foursome Minetti Quartett gives a strong program to close the season for Dallas Chamber Music Society.


published Friday, April 8, 2016
Tri Delta

DVA Productions had a strong season opener with Endesha Ida Mae Holland's From the Mississippi Delta.


published Thursday, April 7, 2016
Brilliant Burnout

Janelle Lutz glows, glowers and gives it all up on the stage as Judy Garland in a thrilling, wrenching production of End of the Rainbow at Uptown Players.


published Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Dazzling and Dizzying

French dance outfit Cie Hervé Koubi gave a mesmerizing performance at Dallas City Performance Hall, presented by TITAS.


published Tuesday, April 5, 2016
The Hero in Me

Don't miss the Turtle Creek Chorale's Heroes concert, featuring the local premiere of the lovely, poignant Tyler's Suite.


published Friday, April 1, 2016
Mall for One

At Stage West, Doug Atkins creates a vivid picture in Jonathan Tolins' funny one-man show Buyer and Cellar.


published Saturday, March 26, 2016
Upkeep with the Joneses

In WaterTower Theatre's Discover Series, Will Eno's The Realistic Joneses is impeccably acted and precisely directed.


published Saturday, March 26, 2016
Preppie Love

Ali MacGraw and Ryan O’Neal evoke nostalgia as they reflect on power perks and alcoholic miseries in the tour of Love Letters at AT&T Performing Arts Center.


published Friday, March 25, 2016
Hog Heaven

At Casa Mañana Children's Theatre, a musical take on The Three Little Pigs is funny, entertaining and, yes, a little hammy.


published Friday, March 25, 2016
For the Composer

Violinist Ilya Kaler shows how it's done in the latest concert from Blue Candlelight Music Series.


published Friday, March 25, 2016
Must Sea

Swim your way to Disney's The Little Mermaid, presented by Dallas Summer Musicals at the Music Hall at Fair Park.


published Saturday, March 19, 2016
Myths Made of Wood

Concrete Temple Theatre's Geppetto: Extraordinary Extremities is an affecting treat at Amphibian Stage Productions. 


published Saturday, March 19, 2016
Light Show

Theatre Three’s crackerjack cast ignites the hot air in Light Up the Sky, Moss Hart’s 1940s backstage comedy poking fun at the foibles of show people on opening night.


published Friday, March 18, 2016
Bridging the Gap

Bryce Dessner of The National adds cachet to the latest, successful Remix program from Dallas Symphony Orchestra.


published Friday, March 18, 2016
Dynamic Duo

The Allegro Guitar Society brings in Duo Deloro, an interesting pairing of Adam Del Monte and Mak Grgic.


published Thursday, March 17, 2016
Getting With the Program

Dallas Chamber Music Society presented the French group Quatuor Ebène, which played an unexceptional program beautifully.


published Thursday, March 17, 2016
 Navigate to Reviews page:
12345678910
Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action Big Meal Title of Show Collin College Prism Co Broadway Our Way Goat Casa Manana Book Club Sundown Feather and the Tempest Irving Arts Center Summer Camp raw Deferred Action
Click or Swipe to close
reviews
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
audiocasts
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
contests
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
crowdfunding
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
studio
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web



Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:


Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:


TheaterJones Section:


Category:
Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Search
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  



Your Name:
Your Email Adress:


please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :
Submit