Conductor James Gaffigan
Music and Opera reporting on is made possible by The University of North Texas College of Music.
Select the link below to discover more.

Review: Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 | Dallas Symphony Orchestra | Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center

All Together Now

The Dallas Symphony, with guest conductor James Gaffigan and pianist Behzod Abduraimov, deliver the goods on Tchaikovsky, Schumann, Adams and Copland.

published Saturday, February 27, 2016

Photo: Christian Fatu
Pianist Behzod Abduraimov


Dallas — It was certainly a grand night at the symphony. American conductor James Gaffigan made a much welcome return to the Dallas Symphony Orchestra’s recently available podium. The Meyerson Symphony Center was filled, one presumes, with an enthusiastic audience to hear Tchaikovsky’s much-loved Piano Concerto No. 1 with the young Uzbek-born pianist Behzod Abduraimov.

The concerto was absolutely spectacular (more about that later). It is a tribute to Gaffigan’s star quality that most of the audience stuck around to hear Schumann’s Symphony No. 4. While this is a wonderful symphony, the audience usually thins when a very popular piece ends the first half.

The program opened with two different but similar pieces; similar in that they both feature a solo trumpet or two and different in that one was an example of John Adams’ minimalism and the other resplendent with Aaron Copland’s unmistakably American harmonies.

Photo: Daniela Kienzler
Conductor James Gaffigan

The Adams piece was his Tromba lontana (“Distant Trumpet”), dating from 1986. Trumpeters Ryan Anthony and Kevin Finamore were situated at opposite sides of the stage playing an antiphonal dialog reminiscent of pre-Baroque church music. The orchestra muttered the usual repeated pattern and harmonic progressions. Both trumpeters played with a clear golden tone and excellent intonation but the limited menu of fanfares Adams supplies began to wear out.

Just as we were tiring of Adams, the entire mood and musical landscape changed as the DSO went directly into Copland’s magical Quiet City. Finamore was replaced with English Hornist David Matthews and a much more interesting back-and-forth began. Since the program didn’t mention that one piece would meld into the other, it would be fascinating to ask the audience members what they thought happened. The pieces were both quiet but completely different.

Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 is practically North Texas’ unofficial anthem. Van Cliburn shocked the world when he won the first Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow during the height of the Cold War. Ever since, it is a standard at piano competitions, including the one in Fort Worth named after the lanky pianist from Kilgore.

We were expecting a fine performance with every note in place and a lot of sound, right from the beginning, especially from a young pianist.

Were we ever surprised! Abduraimov delivered an exceptionally thoughtful performance with the loudest moments modulated to the capabilities of the piano, the resonance of the hall and the level of the orchestra. He never once overplayed the instrument and there was nary a “bang” to be found.

Every phrase was lovingly shaped but rubato at the end of phrases was just enough to make his effect without tipping over into sentimentality (as so often happens). Tempi were fast, and he rushed in the last movement, but no tempo was out of line. Further, even though his technical mastery is complete, he didn’t “show off” how nimble his fingers are for an instant.

Future performances of this concerto by the young artist will surely grow and mature, and they will be different—but not better.

The Schumann symphony rewarded everyone who was thinking about leaving early. Gaffigan brought out all of its considerable beauties and managed to minimize the composer’s over-scoring. Sections that are usually muddy, due to everyone playing constantly for extended periods, sounded almost, well, transparent without some of the usual thinning of the score.

It didn’t get the ecstatic response from the audience that the concerto elicited, but the reception was appreciative and respectful, and maybe that is better. Thanks For Reading

View the Article Slideshow
Click or Swipe to close
All Together Now
The Dallas Symphony, with guest conductor James Gaffigan and pianist Behzod Abduraimov, deliver the goods on Tchaikovsky, Schumann, Adams and Copland.
by Gregory Sullivan Isaacs

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web

Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:

Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:

TheaterJones Section:

Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  

Your Name:
Your Email Adress:

please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :