THEATER | DANCE | CLASSICAL MUSIC | OPERA | COMEDY

NORTH TEXAS PERFORMING ARTS NEWS

REVIEWS

Reviews Page 1 of 10
Seaworthy Show

At Teatro Dallas, El barquito de papel (performed in Spanish with English libretto), is a delight for all ages.


published Sunday, February 19, 2017
Blue Tuesday

The Dallas Winds offer a Valentine's Day concert of Gershwin, featuring pianist Anton Nel, with some hits and misses.


published Sunday, February 19, 2017
Crass Crown

At the Eisemann Center, the uneven comedy cabaret show Disenchanted! lives up to its name.


published Sunday, February 19, 2017
Bang It Out

The always entertaining STOMP returns to the Music Hall at Fair Park on the Dallas Summer Musicals season.


published Friday, February 17, 2017
Side by Side

The Orchestra of New Spain, with the help of flamenco dancers and Avant Chamber Ballet, offers up an intriguing program in "From Cathedral to the Street."


published Friday, February 17, 2017
Band of Brothers

On the Allegro Guitar Series, the Brazilian Assad Brothers show artistry and variety at two shows in DFW.


published Friday, February 17, 2017
Beast Master

At the Eisemann Center, Paul Taylor Dance Company showed Taylor's sardonic side, plus had the premiere of Lila York's Eisemann-commissioned Continuum.


published Thursday, February 16, 2017
Moving Bodies

Undermain Theatre’s stirring and timely production of Brecht's Galileo celebrates intellectual freedom in all its brutal, exhilarating clarity.  


published Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Sonata Rising

Italian pianist Alessandro Deljavan goes through a wild sonata ride on the Blue Candlelight Music Series.


published Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Spanish Flair

For Dallas Chamber Music Society, Spain's Cuarteto Casals and guitarist Manuel Barreuco deliver flawless performances of Shostakovich, Granados and others.


published Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Hole Story

At Amphibian Stage Productions, Jonathan Fielding and Brenda Withers' Northside Hollow goes to the depths of a trapped miner.


published Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Verdi Fast

The Houston Grand Opera does Verdi's Messa da Requiem but never finds the right tempo.


published Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Sisters of Shakespeare

Tina Packer brought her brilliant mix of master class and performance, Women of Will, to the Eisemann Center last weekend.


published Friday, February 10, 2017
Whether You Like It or Not...

Hedwig and the Angry Inch, the defiant rock musical of gender and personal identity, finds a home in middle America, as seen in the national tour at the AT&T Performing Arts Center.


published Wednesday, February 8, 2017
French Bliss

The tour of An American in Paris, presented by Dallas Summer Musicals, is a feast of glorious dancing, acting and stunning visuals.


published Monday, February 6, 2017
Celebrating Black Dance

Dallas Black Dance Theatre brings several black dance companies from around the country for a conference and performances.


published Saturday, February 4, 2017
Video Dancing

Bridgman/Packer Dance play with movement, space and the imaginary in an interesting Dallas stop, presented by TITAS.


published Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Made of Stars

Lauren Gunderson's Silent Sky, which tells the story of early 20th century astronomer Henrietta Leavitt, is bolstered by fine performances and great design at WaterTower Theatre.


published Saturday, January 28, 2017
Fowl Language

At Stage West, the cast and director of Aaron Posner's Chekhov riff Stupid Fucking Bird get it hilariously, snarkily right.


published Friday, January 27, 2017
Window Opened

Lyric Stage has a brilliant full-orchestra concert version of Jerry Herman's Mame, which is more subversive than you remember.


published Friday, January 27, 2017
Feeling Blue

The Blue Candlelight Music Series focuses on two emerging artists with soprano Carelle Flores and pianist Roman Salyutov.


published Wednesday, January 25, 2017
ReMix Unbound

The Dallas Symphony's first ReMix concert of the season, conducted by Courtney Lewis, is an interesting mix of works.


published Monday, January 23, 2017
Decking the Hall

Rising star Conrad Tao offers a diverse program for the Cliburn Sessions at Live Oak Music Hall and Lounge.


published Saturday, January 21, 2017
Dark and Light

Pilobolus shows us its softer side with Shadowland, presented by TITAS at Dallas City Performance Hall.


published Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Rite Mind

Voices of Change offers up a typically fascinating program of rarities and newer work, with a piano four-hands arrangement of The Rite of Spring.


published Wednesday, January 18, 2017
New Dog, New Tricks

The tour of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time gets into the mind of its central character in fresh ways.


published Saturday, January 14, 2017
Laugh Lite

At Theatre Three, Beth Henley's Laugh delivers chuckles and grins, but not enough laughs to justify its title.


published Friday, January 13, 2017
1 comment
Labor Day

Laughs, gags, groans and birth pains enliven Pegasus Theatre’s 18th Living Black & White play, with Death on Delivery at the Eisemann Center.


published Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Breaking the Nut

At the Eisemann Center, a tour of the phenomenal The Hip Hop Nutcracker shows how to blend the classic and contemporary.


published Friday, December 30, 2016
Gotta Have Faith

The Book of Mormon brings heart, humor, and irreverence to the AT&T Performing Arts Center.


published Monday, December 26, 2016
 Navigate to Reviews page:
12345678910
Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera Dallas Summer Musicals Watertower Summer Galileo Topsy Turvy Turtle Creek Chorale El Barquito de Papel School of Rock Firehouse Theater Broadway Our Way Irving Arts Center Dallas Opera
Click or Swipe to close
reviews
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
audiocasts
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
contests
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
crowdfunding
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
studio
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web



Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:


Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:


TheaterJones Section:


Category:
Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Search
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  



Your Name:
Your Email Adress:


please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :
Submit