Adam Schoenberg

Review: Mozart & Rachmaninoff | Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra | Bass Performance Hall

A Stand-Up Concert

The Fort Worth Symphony introduces its composer-in-residence Adam Schoenberg with his ambitious American Symphony.

published Friday, September 18, 2015

Photo: Courtesy FWSO
Adam Schoenberg


Fort Worth — Three standing ovations. The Sept. 11 Fort Worth Symphony concert featured three pieces, and the audience rewarded every one with a standing O. It’s commonplace that Fort Worth audiences are often sparser than their Dallas counterparts, but at least since Miguel Harth-Bedoya took up the baton in Fort Worth, the audience members have been enthusiastic if not as numerous as might be wished.

Thoughtful programming such as that on the first Symphonic Series program of the year may be part of the reason for the ardent audience response. Conventional wisdom has it that audiences will be turned off by contemporary music. Thus, some orchestras perpetually play it safe, performing the same familiar works over and over.

Not the Fort Worth Symphony. For the last several seasons, they have advocated for living composers, with mostly successful results. The key is that many of the works, although unfamiliar to nearly all listeners, are accessible and even fun. Such was certainly the case Friday night with Adam Schoenberg’s American Symphony.

Schoenberg is a 35-year-old American serving as the Fort Worth Symphony’s visiting composer this season. He wears his youth well, bounding on stage Friday night in hipster-perfect burnt orange skinny jeans and a shrunken navy blazer. He provided well-chosen remarks, telling the audience that, like Copland’s Symphony No. 3, his American Symphony contains an extractable fanfare. This is an ambitious pursuit, considering that Copland’s fanfare is of course the ubiquitous “Fanfare for the Common Man.”

Photo: Seldy Cramer Artists
Helene Mercier and Louis Lortie

Although Schoenberg has set a high bar for himself, a bar, which his symphony does not quite hit, his five-movement piece has much to recommend it: it is lively, accessible, and audience-friendly without being bland or trite. It generally evokes a neo-Romantic style, with splashes of patriotic verve.

The orchestra struggled a bit with what was clearly technically difficult new music, though, with a few exceptions. In the second movement, “White on Blue,” mallet percussion is highlighted, and the glockenspiel and marimba playing Friday night was luminous and sensitive.

When tackling more familiar fare, though, the orchestra glowed. Louis Lortie and Hélène Mercier treated audiences to a delicate and effectively phrased rendition of Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat Major, K. 365. The orchestra got out of their way, skillfully echoing the pair’s phrasing choices but never overpowering them. The two pianists complemented each other while retaining distinctive solo voices.

Rachmaninoff’s final composition, the Symphonic Dances, Op. 45, is a wonder. It includes numerous quotations from Rachmaninoff’s other works, an alto saxophone solo (unique to Rachmaninoff’s oeuvre), and in the final movement, tellingly, quotations of the Dies Irae, the death theme, in a sort of battle with another theme signifying resurrection. (Spoiler alert: resurrection wins out.) Rachmaninoff was a melodist, and this piece is no exception, with gorgeous tunes aplenty.

For the most part, the Fort Worth Symphony was up to the task of this piece. There were some ragged entrances and a few balance problems, as well as a draggy tempo in the first movement, but the thrilling bombast of the last movement made for a fine ending to a pleasing night of music-making. Does any concert deserve three standing ovations? I’m not sure of that, and these days standing ovations are given out willy-nilly. But if standing O’s translate into more tickets sold, then stand on. Thanks For Reading

Dates, Prices, & Other Details

View the Article Slideshow

Comment on this Article

Share this article on Social Media
Click or Swipe to close
A Stand-Up Concert
The Fort Worth Symphony introduces its composer-in-residence Adam Schoenberg with his ambitious American Symphony.
by J. Robin Coffelt

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web

Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:

Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:

TheaterJones Section:

Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  

Your Name:
Your Email Adress:

please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :