Music and Opera reporting on is made possible by The University of North Texas College of Music.
Select the link below to discover more.

Review: The Four Seasons | Dallas Chamber Symphony | Moody Performance Hall

Global Journey

The Dallas Chamber Symphony does right on three 20th century works in its latest concert.

published Thursday, February 21, 2019

Photo: Youngho Kang


Dallas — Three well-chosen 20th-century works made for a fascinating concert by the Dallas Chamber Symphony and conductor Richard McKay Tuesday night at Moody Performance Hall, taking the audience on a journey through the American heartland, Buenos Aires, and Switzerland.

Nebraska-born Howard Hanson often evoked the wide-open spaces of the American continent in his unabashedly romantic, large-scale symphonic tapestries; in his Fantasy-Variation on a Theme of Youth, Hanson distilled that breadth into a sort of miniature concerto for piano and strings, which, in 11 minutes, creates a sort of grand serenity. McKay and pianist Jonathan Tsay—the latter strategically placed in the center of the orchestra, facing the audience—created an appropriate momentum and emotional aura here, allowing Hanson’s impeccable orchestration to wash over the listener. Some slight raggedness in the ensemble of 25 strings barely disturbed the overall sweep of this tightly woven structure; McKay and Tsay especially demonstrated a fine sense of dramatic timing.

Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla, who elevated the music of the tango into high art, created, over a period of five years in 1965-70, four separate impressions of the passing seasons in Buenos Aires, conceived for various instruments and ensembles. Thirty years later, with Piazzolla’s blessing, Russian composer Leonid Desyatnikov arranged and transcribed those separate works into a single, extended four-part concerto for violin solo and strings, modeled after the Four Seasons of Vivaldi. The result, Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires) came across Tuesday night as a gorgeous showpiece for guest soloist Chee-Yun, the Korean-born concert artists who serves as artist-in-residence at Southern Methodist University, as well as for the orchestra, here collaborating in top form. Baroque borrowings (including quotes from Vivaldi and Pachelbel) and Piazzolla’s hallmark urban energy and seductive insinuations play back and forth throughout, with occasional moments of Paganini-style showmanship for Chee-Yun. Cellist Jesús Castro-Balbi of the faculty for Texas Christian University weighed in with a resonantly expressive rendition of the cello cadenza at the opening of the “Summer” movement.

Swiss composer Frank Martin managed to weather World War II in his homeland; during the closing months of the war and in the immediate aftermath, he created his Petite symphonie concertante, a fascinating blend of baroque and modern sensibilities featuring harpsichord, harp, and piano soloists with double string orchestra. An almost gray 12-tone fugue introduces an otherwise glittering, unfailingly engaging essay, constantly intertwining the three soloists and various elements of the orchestra; as in much of Martin’s music, a sense of utter sophistication entwines with a youthful sense of exuberance.

As conductor McKay pointed out, Martin apparently had in mind the large, loud harpsichords of the mid-20th century here; those instruments have disappeared in the ensuing era of musical authenticity, so that most harpsichords of today are smaller, more subtle instruments such as were available to Bach, Handel, and their contemporaries. Harpsichord soloist Cameron Hoffman here performed on the largest harpsichord I have ever seen—about the size of an eight-foot concert grand piano—which, although Hoffman played beautifully, was not quite the match the other modern instruments on a stage. In this case, some very subtle electronic amplification, of the sort classical guitarists sometimes employ when playing with orchestra, might have been appropriate.

Other than that one tiny complaint, the presentation of this fascinating and unique masterpiece of 20th-century music was unfailingly engaging, with harpist Yumiko Schlaffer and pianist Tsay joining conductor McKay and the orchestra in a work that bounds stylistically—and convincingly—from Bach to Stravinsky. Thanks For Reading

Click or Swipe to close
Global Journey
The Dallas Chamber Symphony does right on three 20th century works in its latest concert.
by Wayne Lee Gay

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web

Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:

Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:

TheaterJones Section:

Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  

Your Name:
Your Email Adress:

please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :