Miguel Harth-Bedoya
Music and Opera reporting on is made possible by The University of North Texas College of Music.
Select the link below to discover more.

Review: Hadelich plays Mendelssohn | Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra | Bass Performance Hall

Merry Melodies

In the Fort Worth Symphony's classical series opener, Miguel Harth-Bedoya and violinist Augustin Hadelich gave beautiful melodies.

published Sunday, September 10, 2017

Photo: Schmidt Artists Management
Augustin Hadelich


Fort Worth — For those wishing that classical concerts presented pieces with some hummable tunes, the Fort Worth Symphony’s current offering fits the bill. Music Director Miguel Harth-Bedoya spun out one beautiful melody after another on Friday night in Bass Hall.

The program opener is better known as a program closer: Elgar’s Pomp and Circumstance Military March No. 1 in D-major, Op. 39. It is impossible to even venture a guess of how many graduating students solemnly marched forward to receive diplomas to the regal strains of the melody that makes up the central trio section, but that number would be transcendental.

Photo: Fabiana van Lente
Miguel Harth-Bedoya

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E-minor, Op. 64, is one long study in lush melodic outpourings and the young virtuoso violinist Augustin Hadelich used his rich tone and precise intonation to great advantage.

It is not one of the great virtuosic vehicles that allows violinists to display the fireworks that their nimble fingers can launch. This is not to say that it doesn’t present some considerable difficulties, because it does, but any decent high school-level player can give it a presentable reading. (Grieg’s piano concerto shares a similar fate.)

As a result, violinists go for pyrotechnics by adding some Presto pesto. As did Hadelich.

Hadelich started out modestly enough, making no big fuss over Mendelssohn’s triadic tune. However, once the pace switched from doubles to triplets, Hadelich took off running way past what you could call rushed. Harth-Bedoya managed to keep up, but the character of the music changed from Mendelssohn’s energetic eloquence to Paganini’s pyro-flamboyance.

The other noticeable problem with Hadelich’s interoperation was his failure to breathe with the phrases. Even Mendelssohn’s most non-stop materials, of which there is an abundance in his oevre, have a vocal bent.  Just because the bow doesn’t need to breathe doesn’t mean that the music shouldn’t. These few details marred what was otherwise a carefully thought-out performance.

Hadelich was more in his element in his encore: Paganini’s Caprice No. 24 for solo violin. Like all the caprices in the series, this one is an astounding display of jaw-dropping technical prowess, and Hadelich has the goods.

While Rachmaninoff’s Symphony No. 3, Op. 44, doesn’t have the soaring eloquence of his better-known second symphony, this later work has its own beauties to display. Oddly, this symphony, written much later in the composer/pianist’s career, abounds in fresher and more youthful tunes than we find in his earlier effort.

Harth-Bedoya said that he first performed Rachmaninoff’s third symphony many decades ago (he must have been a child if that is not an exaggeration), and was just returning it now. This is a wise decision on his part because the piece fits him like a neoprene suit. In lesser hands, the third symphony can remind you of a second brew samovar of Russian Caravan tea made with exhausted leaves.

Such was not the case on Friday.

Harth-Bedoya understands that Rachmaninoff put his previously opulent 19th-century romanticism on a 20th-century diet. This leaner version of romanticism makes good use of the composer’s technical brilliance in organizing the music and motivic unity.

Harth-Bedoya revealed the Russianness of the work with a close attention to the dance rhythms and longing melodic material without losing the innate melancholia so important to all Russian composers.

An interesting aside: Rachmaninoff wrote this symphony right after finishing his Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini for piano and orchestra, based on the violinist’s 24th caprice that we just heard as Hadelich’s encore. Thanks For Reading

View the Article Slideshow
Click or Swipe to close
Merry Melodies
In the Fort Worth Symphony's classical series opener, Miguel Harth-Bedoya and violinist Augustin Hadelich gave beautiful melodies.
by Gregory Sullivan Isaacs

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web

Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:

Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:

TheaterJones Section:

Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  

Your Name:
Your Email Adress:

please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :