Alex McDonald

Review: Alex McDonald | Dallas Chamber Symphony | Moody Performance Hall

Codes of Conduct

The Dallas Chamber Symphony opens its season with a program featuring thrilling work from pianist Alex McDonald.

published Friday, September 19, 2014

Photo: Dallas Chamber Symphony
Richard McKay

Dallas — The Dallas Chamber Symphony remains a conundrum. It is an excellent orchestra with some of the best players in town. With an exciting soloist, they can turn in an thrilling performance. Their innovative program of commissioning new scores for classic silent films is worthy of national notice. But Music Director Richard McKay is an uninspiring conductor in most other situations. Such was the case on Tuesday when the orchestra opened its third season at Dallas City Performance Hall.

Locally based pianist Alex McDonald is a remarkable talent. He first came to wider notice with his outstanding performance in the 2013 Van Cliburn International Piano competition. While no one quibbles with whom eventually won, many thought that McDonald’s combination of sparkling technique and insightful musicianship should have advanced him to the next round. Those attributes were on prominent display on Tuesday as he set off fireworks with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 1.

Photo: Courtesy
Alex McDonald

Shostakovich started out to write a trumpet concerto and then added a piano part, which eventually took over the whole piece. The trumpet is still there, but in a secondary position to the piano. However, there was nothing secondary about trumpeter Oscar Garcia Montoya’s performance in the piece. It was unfortunate that he was placed in the back of the orchestra and directly behind the raised piano lid. This meant that he was invisible to the audience for the entire performance. But his clear and burnished sound was front and center.

In addition to the Spartan use of the solo trumpet, this concerto is an odd work in other ways. It is full of mischievous quotes from everyone from Beethoven to the composer’s own works. It is also full of twists and turns and, as a result, it can sound disjointed. Not so in McDonald’s performance. From the start, he had a view of the entire piece in his mind and every note he played was a step along his journey to the ending.

Much of the piano part is percussive and McDonald provided a great variety of sounds within this parameter. Some passages were brittle and others pure steel. There were times that he hit the keys in such a manner as to create the twang of piano strings while allowing the full resonance of the instrument to ring in other, equally loud, passages. In the slow lyrical moments in the second movement, it was easy to forget that the piano is a percussion instrument. He connected up the notes with a finger legato that let the instrument sing.

McKay provided a supportive accompaniment. This is a difficult work to conduct, with all its abrupt changes, and he was in close contact with McDonald the whole way. Of course, the conductor has the worst seat in the house as far as acoustics go and the orchestra frequently covered the piano. In most cases, it is better for the conductor to err on the quiet side when paying a concerto, but this work has such a high energy level that it is very difficult to judge levels.

Overall, it was a fine performance of a rarely performed concerto. It was a treat to hear it and it was a credit to all concerned.

There were two other works on the program. Peter Warlock’s delightful Capriol Suite for Strings is a staple of high school and college orchestral repertoire and it was good to hear it played by the excellent strings of the DCS.

Dvořák’s Serenade for Strings was another matter. McKay’s somnambulistic conducting shaved off the peaks and flattened the valleys of Dvořák’s highly colored score. Tempi were slow and the entire performance lacked energy.

On the other hand, the audience seemed to enjoy it and that is really all that matters. They gave the orchestra and McKay a rousing ovation.

» Read our interview with pianist Alex McDonald Thanks For Reading

Dates, Prices, & Other Details

View the Article Slideshow

Comment on this Article

Share this article on Social Media
Click or Swipe to close
Codes of Conduct
The Dallas Chamber Symphony opens its season with a program featuring thrilling work from pianist Alex McDonald.
by Gregory Sullivan Isaacs

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close
views on theater, dance, classical music, opera and comedy performances
news & notes
reports from the local performing arts scene
features & interviews
who and what are moving and shaking in the performing arts scene
season announcements
keep up with the arts groups' upcoming seasons
listen to interviews with people in the local performing arts scene
media reviews
reviews and stories on performing arts-related film, TV, recordings and books
arts organizations
learn more about the local producing and presenting arts groups
performance venues
learn more about the theaters and spaces where the arts happen
keep up with fabulous ticket giveaways and other promotions
connect to local arts crowdfunding campaigns
post or view auditions and performing arts-related classes, services, jobs and more
about us
info on TheaterJones, our staff, what we do and how to contact us
Click or Swipe to close
First Name:
Last Name:
Date of Birth:
ZIP Code:
Your Email Address:
Click or Swipe to close
Join TheaterJones Around the Web

Follow Us on Twitter

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Click or Swipe to close
Search the TheaterJones Archives
Use any or all of the options below to search through all of reviews, interviews, features and special sections. If you are looking for a an event, use the calendar section of this website. This search will not search through the calendar.
Article Title Search:

Description Search:
TheaterJones Contributor:

TheaterJones Section:

Showing on or after:      Showing on or before:  
Click or Swipe to close
We welcome your comments

I am discussing:  

Your Name:
Your Email Adress:

please enter the text below and then click or tap SUBMIT :