The 2013 Cliburn Competitors
Music and Opera reporting on is made possible by The University of North Texas College of Music.
Select the link below to discover more.

Slideshow: Cliburn Competitors

Meet the 30 pianists in the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.

published Sunday, May 12, 2013

We have profiled all 30 competitors in the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. You can read their profiles on the links on each name below, and to view a slidehow, click the "slideshow" icon below the photos to the right. You'll see their bios and the full competition repertoire there.

They were chosen from 132 applicants who auditioned for a five-member screening jury in Hong Kong, Hanover, Moscow, Milan, New York and Fort Worth in January and February, 2013.

The 2013 Cliburn Competition competitors hail from all over the world, representing 12 countries: the United States (7), Italy (6), Russia (5), China (3), Ukraine (2), Australia, Chile, France, Japan, South Korea, Poland and Taiwan. They range in age from 19 to 30. 

TICKETS: For additional information about and to purchase tickets for the Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth, visit

JURY: Maestro John Giordano (United States) will serve as chairman of the jury for his eleventh competition since he assumed the post in 1973. Other jury members include: Dmitri Alexeev (Russia), Michel Beroff (France), Andrea Bonatta (Italy), Richard Dyer (United States), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel), Liu Shih Kun (China), Minoru Nojima (Japan), Menahem Pressler (United States), Blanca Uribe (Colombia), Arie Vardi (Israel), and Xian Zhang (China).

WEBCAST: For those who cannot attend the Competition, all performances will be streamed live in their entirety and available on-demand at, making it possible for virtually anyone anywhere to experience the music. We will also stream the webcast in our TheaterJones special section.

The Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition will take place May 24-June 9, 2013, at Fort Worth's Bass Performance Hall and will welcome 30 of the world's finest pianists to Texas. Continuing its longstanding commitment to new music, the Cliburn has selected composer Christopher Theofanidis to write the commissioned work that will be performed by all competitors during the Semifinal Round. Additionally, the competition has been dedicated to showcasing both the extraordinary talent of its competitors in recital performance as well as their ability to collaborate with other musicians. The Fourteenth Competition will mark the first Cliburn appearance by the world-renowned Brentano String Quartetperforming a piano quintet with each of the 12 semifinalists. The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, which has appeared at every Cliburn Competition, will perform two concerti with each of the six finalists, under the baton of Maestro Leonard Slatkin for the first time. Thanks For Reading

Click or Swipe to close
Slideshow: Cliburn Competitors
Meet the 30 pianists in the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.
by TJ Staff

Share this article on Facebook
Tweet this article
Share this article on Google+
Share this article via email
Click or Swipe to close